Thank You, Little Sister. 

Hey Jenna: 
I know you saw a lot more happen with mom’s decline than I did since you moved and I stayed in New York. I’m sorry I left you to deal with that all physically by yourself but I knew you were stronger than I was. I just wanted to write this to say thank you. 

Thank you for letting me play a mother role and not getting mad at me for it. I know there were times where you hated that I was trying to boss you around and tell you what yo do, but you took it. I want you to know that at first I did it to help you grow up since I knew it was so hard without mom teaching us what to do. But ever since you grew up and became a teenager it shifted. I became “motherly” toward you because I want to protect you and because you’re my best friend, and I know now that you realize all that I’ve done for you in that sense. I guess I never realized that I was doing all that because it just all felt so natural to me. 

Thank you for keeping things so fun and light-hearted. We have been through a lot but you NEVER fail to lighten up tough situations with laughter and jokes. I can always count on you to make my good days even better and my bad days bearable. I love coming home because of all the shenanigans you get me into. I live for the stupid ass fights we have because neither one of us can fight and then laugh about it afterwards. You literally crack me up and that has definitely helped me get through a lot. 

Thank you for always staying in contact with me. I know that it can be hard that I live in New York. We spent fifteen years of our lives living under the same roof and seeing each other every single day to seeing each other tops of four times a year. So thank you for not losing contact with me, forgetting me, and sticking with me through all of this crazy college stuff! 

Thank you for teaching me so much about myself and life in general. You might think that you being the little sister that there can’t be any way that you teach your older sister anything, but you have! You have taught me about hair, makeup(a little LOL), MY EYEBROWS(hallelujah), clothing/fashion, Florida/teen slang(finesse, y’all, The Hill, af, and so much more). But besides all the stuff that could make me “more cool” and relevant, you have taught me how to let go, how to chill out and have a good time and how to just enjoy life to the fullest. 

Basically, I am a better person because of you. I drive you, you drive me. We are an unbeatable force and I plan on it staying that way until the very end. So, thank you, for being you. 

Love,

 your big sister! 

Leave a Reply

